Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve had my heart broken by a few women and I have broken a few women’s heart. But the one that changed my heart were my daughters. At first, I saw them as little infants and toddlers in need of the simple basics of life: food, sleep, and clothes. As they grew in height, my responsibilities began to grow as well. When an older boy scared my daughter with a dead insect, I drove to the basketball court and found the older boy there. As I walked over to him, my youngest daughter sat in the backseat of the car and watched me. I told the little boy not to bother my daughter again. As I walked back to the car, my daughter gave me a smile I’ve never received before. It was her way of saying you will protect me. This was new to me. I didn’t know then as I learned later on that this was part of a father’s love for his daughter. She was reassured. I had a portion of my heart exposed that I didn’t know existed.

As a father, I began seeing through their eyes that the kind of love they would probably desire would be the kind of love I would give them. The weight of that responsibility seemed very heavy yet very manageable. Since my daughters deserve the very best, my love for them became the propulsion to live a life that was honorable before them. This love would work two jobs to make sure they had what they need. This same love made sure they ate three meals a day. This made loving them manageable. This same love taught me to be selective in who I brought my daughters around when it came to the opposite sex. This love encouraged me to plan and execute what kind of legacy I would leave behind for them as most parents should do.

Some men have no idea how much influence they have as a father. I was one of those fathers until my daughters taught me how to love them. I was one of those fathers that thought simply buying and providing for them was my way of loving them. Because of my daughters, I have learned I cast the mold for the kind of husband I want them to marry. Thank God for daddy’s little girls.

BJ's solo pic Reg UnivBJ Butler is a single parent father of two young ladies. Because of them and his faith in God, he began his legacy by encouraging God’s people and demonstrating to his daughters all things are possible.  Because of this inspiring circumstance, BJ’s first book, “Spiritual Thoughts: Human Error, God’s Correction” was published.  You can purchase it at:  http://www.amazon.com/Spiritual-Thoughts-BJ-Butler/dp/1624198317/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1390706960&sr=8-1&keywords=bj+butler                       

Contact: Twitter @BJSNACKS
               Facebook: BJ Butler
               Email: Spiritual_snacks@yahoo.com
