Tags

, , , , , ,

I Love You Like a Blind Man Loves Sound

I love you like a blind man loves sound
Needs its lead to make his way around
Feels its rhythm bouncing off the walls and off the ground
I love you like a blind man loves sound

I love you like a deaf man loves sight
Guiding his footsteps through the darkness of night
Giving his mind wings so that his dreams take flight
I love you like a deaf man loves sight

I love you like a lonely man loves a crowd
Craving its energy to make him feel proud
Imagining his name has been uttered aloud
I love you like a lonely man loves a crowd

I love you like a lame man loves the ocean
Adopting its ebb and flow as his own legs’ motion
Accepting the return of waves as faithful devotion
I love you like a lame man loves the ocean

I love you like a poor man loves hope
Uses its light through his struggles to cope
Holds it tight to his chest as his only escape rope
I love you like a poor man loves hope

© 2011 J. Richelle Joe

rjoe2J. RICHELLE JOE has served as a teacher and counselor in the public school system for thirteen years. As recently as 2004, she discovered a long-hidden gift for poetry and spoken word. She has since shared that gift with a variety of audiences including children, adolescents and adults throughout Virginia. In 2010, she published her first collection of poetry titled From the Ash Heap. For more information about Richelle and to hear recordings of her poetry, visit www.sweetlyspokenword.com.

